Author Spotlight 5-2, Meet Justin Bienvenue!

I can’t believe we’re already at the first author spotlight for May. It is my extreme pleasure to introduce author, Justin Bienvenue!

Tell us a little bit about yourself. 
I am 26 soon to be 27 this summer. I live in Massachusetts where I am dying to get outside more but lately the snow and cold weather prevents this. I enjoy sports(mainly football and baseball), history and I would say writing although it’s become my job rather then something I do in my spare time. I am friendly, outgoing, shy at times and have a wild and creative imagination that goes back to my childhood. 

Where can we find you on the internet? 
I would say Google Justin Bienvenue and my website, Goodreads account and other interviews I have taken a part of will come up. However that seems a bit forward so you can mainly find me on my website, Facebook and Twitter. 

Website- http://jbienvenue.webs.com/ 
Facebook-http://www.facebook.com/ThePlasmaticWriter 
Twitter- @JustinBienvenue 

 Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style? 
So far I have written in poetry, horror and the western genre. I chose poetry because it’s a genre and style of writing I have come to enjoy writing in for quite some time. It was one of my first true enjoyments of writing. I chose Horror because everyone seems to enjoy it these days at their preferred level of course. Given that, I find that you can really relate to horror lovers whether it’s writers or readers, a popular genre of today for sure. 

Tell us about your latest book. 
My latest book is a Western Horror called, “A Bloody Bloody Mess In The Wild Wild West” it is a story about a southern western town in turmoil five years after the Civil War. Things only get worse when a Mexican outlaw makes his way into town and tries to take over and run it into the ground. Along with undead Civil War soldiers and his gritty crew along with new found abilities he takes on the town in an intense and ruthless bloody war. 

 If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why? 
I recently just watched the original version of “Total Recall” with Arnold Schwartzenegger so I’m going to go with that world, without the whole identity issue of course. Being able to go to and from Mars as one pleases sounds really interesting and the whole virtual world a person can live also seems like a cool idea. 

What was your favorite book growing up? 
I wasn’t much of a reader growing up but I do remember a few children’s books to which I was quite fond of. “Caps for Sale” by Esphyr Slobodkina and “Corduroy” by Don Freeman. Aside from the educational value I always enjoyed them and found them fun to read or have read to me. 

The infamous question- what advice would you give to an aspiring and new authors out there? 

Believe in your writing and write for yourself and what you enjoy. You don’t want to write about something you yourself would never read and you can’t possibly know what others will like or who will like your writing so stick to what you yourself enjoy. Also don’t give up, if you have an idea in mind, stick to it and keep pursuing it. 

What are your favorite games(tabletop and/or video)? If your not too much into gaming(even monopoly counts!) What are your other hobbies? 
When it comes to video games I enjoy sports games such as Madden and any baseball game. Also a fan of the Hitman series, I own all them. Also have a few western games called Gun and Red Dead Revolver I enjoy playing. My favorite board games to play are Apples to Apples and Trivial Pursuit. 

What can we look forward to from you in the future? 
I have a new book of poetry coming out in April. It is just poetry with no other one specific genre as the poems in the book are all different and unique. I also will have a few more short stories coming out soon as well. 

Thanks again Justin for filling out my questions!

Leave a comment