Author Spotlight- Meet Ted Galdi

It’s my pleasure this week to introduce author, Ted Galdi!

Ted Galdi Photo                 Elixir Cover - Ted Galdi

 

1)Tell us a little bit about yourself. 
I’m a twenty-nine-year-old debut author living in Los Angeles.  I’ve been working in the software 
industry for the last few years and recently decided to write my first novel.  It’s a thriller called 
Elixir, which will be released this summer. 
2)Where can we find you on the internet? 
The official website for Elixir has some good content on it, including the book trailer, 
three-chapter preview, and even a featured-song playlist.  Check everything out at 
3)Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style? 
I’ve always been interested in fast-paced gritty stories and Elixir, a thriller about a teenage 
genius battling to put together a cure for Ebola, naturally emerged from that interest.  Unlike 
many other thriller writers however, I put a big emphasis on character development.  A lot of the 
effort in writing the book went into making the characters layered yet realistic.  As for the 
writing style itself, I use a very direct, stripped-down approach (ie, no filler or fancy words) and 
avoid lengthy expository passages.  The result is a story that gets out of its own way. 
4)Tell us about your latest book. 
Elixir is about Sean, a teenage prodigy who just wants to lead a normal life.  However, his 
extreme intelligence makes this difficult.  For instance, the US government exploits him so he 
can break computer codes for the NSA.  This winds up leading to some disastrous situations and 
Sean swears off mathematics and academics in general.  However, four years later he’s forced to 
embrace the life he’s been trying to run from when his girlfriend becomes mysteriously ill; he 
realizes he’s the only person on the planet smart enough to put together a vaccine in time to 
save her.  Though the story is filled with action and suspense, at its heart it’s a coming of age 
book about a teenager’s quest for personal identity and first love. 
5)If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why? 
The normal present-day world is crazy enough for me.  I’m content here. 
6)What was your favorite book growing up? 
The Catcher in the Rye. 
7)The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out there? 
Try to choose protagonists you can relate to.  This makes the writing not only easier but more 
realistic.  For instance, even though I am not a super-genius like my protagonist Sean, I was in 
deed an 18-year-old boy once and this made writing about another 18-year-old boy pretty natural.  
This is not to say you can’t write about sensational, off-the-wall people.  You can.  Just make 
sure they have a link to something real in your life, even on some level. 
8)What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment? 
I prefer writing in private at the desk in my home.  Music and coffee are both musts. 
9)What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming (even 
monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies? 
I’m not much of a game player.  So much of my free time goes into writing so I’m pretty busy 
with that.  As for hobbies, I love skiing and going to concerts. 
9)What can we look forward from you in the future? 
I still haven’t decided what I’m going to write next.  I just finished Elixir last month and am 
focused on getting the word out.  However, I do have a handful of ideas that have been brewing.  
Thanks Ted for taking the time to answer my questions.
Leave a Reply

