Author Spotlight 4-27-14- Gail Campbell

In today’s Spotlight it’s my pleasure to introduce author, Gail Campbell.

me    gailccover

1.  Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I live in a small pennine town on the edge of the moors in England, UK.  I spent my early career as a member of the Women’s Royal Naval Service (Wrens) travelling from base to base.  Unfortuntely in those days women didn’t go to sea like they do today, so I only travelled around the UK.  It was a great time in my life and I met some wonderful people.

Since then I have had a long career in sales, travelling throughout the UK, Europe and occasional trips to Massachusetts, USA.  I also love travelling on a personal level and I am in love with the Far East!  I’ve yet to get to Australia and New Zealand, but they are on my bucket list!

As well as travelling I love to write and have written short stories and poems from being a small child.  “Fractured Minds” is my debut novel.  I also love photography and walking with my husband and our Norwegian Elkhound dog.

2.  Where can we find you on the internet?

Facebook:  “Fractured Minds by Gail Campbell”
Twitter: @galian2
Amazon.com (paperback) : http://www.amazon.com/Fractured-Minds-Gail-Campbell/dp/1291743235/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1398255132&sr=8-1&keywords=fractured+minds+gail+campbell
Amazon.com (eBook): http://www.amazon.com/Fractured-Minds-Gail-Campbell-ebook/dp/B00IEG83BU/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=

3.  Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style?

I have always loved the fantasy/horror genre.  Stephen King is a big influence, his writing ticks all the boxes for me.  His novel “Insomnia” had me in tears at the end,  I just get so involved with his stories!  I have a very vivid imagination and dream an awful lot, usually quite weird and wonderful dreams.  It was my dreams that inspired me to write my novel.

My writing style is character driven.  I would like people to feel they really know the characters, how they feel, how they think, but I do like to throw in some surprises.  My horror element is not gory, more psychological which I think can be more frightening.

4.  Tell us about your latest book?

My novel Fractured Minds uses the idea that mental illness can cause the mind to fracture, leaving little cracks that can allow evil forces to take control.  Here’s a synopsis:

Melissa is troubled by severe headaches, low mood and disturbed sleep. She has the same recurrent nightmare in which a young girl, Rebecca, pleads for help to escape from a dark force, Noctilious, who has found his way into her mind and taken her from the real world to his.

 

Rebecca reveals that Noctilious has taken many people, and Melissa is one of his intended victims. Unable to convince Melissa that the dreams are real, Rebecca takes desperate measures and attacks her. When Melissa awakes the next morning she is shocked to see bloody marks on her arm. Melissa confides her fears to her husband, Adam, but he thinks she is ill and urges her to visit the doctor as he feels that she is becoming paranoid and unbalanced.

 

Embarking on an investigation Melissa tracks down Rebecca’s family and is shocked to discover that Rebecca disappeared from her home in mysterious circumstances over five years ago. Melissa quickly realises that her dreams are in fact reality and her unique ability to move from one world to the other is the only hope for Rebecca to escape and return home to her grieving family. But what is it that Noctilious wants, and can Melissa rescue Rebecca before it is too late?
My book is suitable for adults and young adults.

5.  If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be an why?

It would have to be “Back to the Future” – I love the 50’s, the style of clothing, the cars, the bright colours.  I could spend some time in the 50’s and then zoom off somewhere else, in the future or the past.  I could really see some amazing things and meet some great people!

6.  What was your favorite book growing up?

I think I have to say “Black Beauty” – I adore animals and I so wanted a horse at that time!

7.  The infamous question – what advice would you give to any aspiring and hew authors out there?

I would say never give up on your dream.  To actually spend the time writing a book and then to publish it is a wonderful thing.  Everyone has a gift, whatever that may be, and if you think your gift is writing then do it.

8.  What are your preferred methods to use while writing and environment?
 
I like to just punch out my thoughts on the computer as they come.  I try to jot down key points of the main characters, just so I don’t forget.  I like peace and quiet to write, I don’t even like the radio on.

9.  What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)?  If you’re not too much into gaming (even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies?

I’m not a gamer at all I’m afraid, it just doesn’t appeal to me at all.  I do love entering competitions though, and I’ve been lucky enough to win trips to Thailand, Vietnam and Tenerife as well as lots of other useful and not so useful gadgets!  I also love photography and walking with my Norwegian Elkhound dog.

10.  What can we look forward to from you in the future?
 
Well, my book is a stand alone book but can very easily lend itself to a sequel.  I have lots of ideas to carry the story forward and I will be starting this real soon.  I also have the idea of a completely new story with dogs featuring very strongly!

Thanks Gail for taking the time to answer my questions!

 

Leave a Reply

