Author Spotlight 6-21-14 Introducing Rita Lee Chapman

This week it’s my pleasure to introduce author, Rita Lee Chapman!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
     Missing_in_Egypt_Cover Winston_-_A_Horse's__Cover
1)Tell us a little bit about yourself. 
Hi Tiffany.  I am Rita Lee Chapman and I was born in London, moving to Australia in my 
early twenties.  I write as Rita Lee Chapman because there was already someone writing 
under Rita Chapman.  I wrote my first book, Missing in Egypt, when I retired to 
Queensland from Sydney.  
Missing in Egypt is available as an ebook and paperback at Amazon 
and as an ebook from Smashwords http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/263417 
2)Where can we find you on the internet? 
I have a website at http://www.ritaleechapman.com where I host a different guest author each 
week.  If anyone is interested in being interviewed please contact me through the website. 
Facebook: https://www.rita.chapman@facebook.com 
3)Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style? 
I love travelling and had recently visited Egypt, which is very impressive and so different to 
other destinations.  It seemed an ideal place to base a story and so Missing in Egypt, a 
romantic travel mystery, evolved from my holiday.  My second book, Winston – A Horse’s 
Tale is for horse lovers from teenagers upwards and is told by Winston himself.  He is, of 
course, an Australian horse.  I would like to think my writing style is easy to read. 
4)Tell us about your latest book. 
Winston is a good-looking palomino horse whose life involves several different owners and 
many adventures.  As you read his story, told by Winston himself, you will appreciate horse 
ownership from the horse’s point of view.  Born on a country property in Australia, Winston 
tells of his breaking-in and education and the different people he encounters – good, bad 
and ignorant.  As well as his own story, Winston includes the experiences of other horses he 
meets along life’s way.   
 
Whether it’s jumping, eventing, hunting or just hacking, Winston tries hard to please his 
rider. Follow his successes and his failures from his breaking-in to his show jumping win. It 
is an eventful life – the story of one Australian horse out of thousands, but one that you will 
remember! 
 
Winston is available as an ebook and paperback from Amazon at 
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00G9QOZGE and from Smashwords at 
5)If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why? 
It would have to be Winston – A Horse’s Tale because I love living in Australia. 
6)What was your favorite book growing up? 
Why, Black Beauty of course! 
7)The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out 
there? 
Just do it.  Now that you can self-publish you too can see your book in print and it is the 
most wonderful feeling.  My second piece of advice is edit, edit, edit. 
8)What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment? 
I like to be able to sit at my computer and for the words to flow.  With Winston – A 
Horse’s Tale this was exactly what happened.  However Missing in Egypt was more of a 
struggle to work out where it was going and I am finding the same with my latest book, 
which is more of a mystery/thriller.  Once I have the plot sorted in my mind then I can sit 
and write.  I like complete peace to and often settle best when it’s raining – the great 
outdoors doesn’t appeal then! 
9) What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming 
(even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies? 
Table tennis, although I don’t play very often.  As a child I played chess with my grandparents 
but I have forgotten how and keep meaning to learn again. 
10) What can we look forward to from you in the future? 
Hopefully a best seller eventually! 
Thanks Rita for taking the time to answer my questions.
Leave a Reply

