5-30 Author Spotlight- Introducing Brian Woods

For this week’s spotlight it’s my pleasure to introduce fantasy author, Brian Woods!
1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I am a computer programmer during the day who weaves works of fiction at night. My dual life allows me to earn a decent living but still put my heart and soul into my dream.
2) Where can we find you on the internet?
3) Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style?
I decided on Fantasy because I enjoy reading it the most. I dabble in other genres here and there just to get a feel for what else is out there. Variety is the spice of life.
4) Tell us about your latest book.
With so many going at the moment, I guess I will tell you about the latest released. A Werecat’s Journal: First Life is the beginning of a nine part series about a Werecat in the southern states. It follows all 9 of his lives as a cat. It is a paranormal mystery / urban fantasy that has received all good reviews at the moment. It’s a quick read, easy to follow, and a great series by myself and Roy C. Booth.
5) If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why?
Arrakis, Dune, the desert planet. A man is judged by his deeds and intentions.
6) What was your favorite book growing up?
The Pern series as well as the Dune series. Hard to pick just one book, or just one series. I do enjoy reading and have read quite a few books in my short years.
7) The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out there?
Don’t be in a hurry… for anything.
8) What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment?
I like it quiet and comfortable. A library with nice chairs, a small coffee shop, at home with no kids, whatever I can find to give me privacy, peace, and quiet.
9)What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming (even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies?
I still play Ultima Online occasionally. The free server, http://www.uorenaissance.com , is where I spend my gaming time on PC. I also play D&D board games when I get groups together. And I am a sucker for No Limit Texas Hold’em
10) What can we look forward from you in the future?
Now that is quite a long list. I have 14 current projects that are either in edit, 2nd draft, or waiting to be published. On top of that, I have 27 more projects that have been outlined, rough drafted, or started into production. I am working with 3 co-writers at the moment: Roy C. Booth, Jesse Duckworth, and Taylor Woods. Of course Second Life (A Werecat’s Journal), Chords of Charis (A Song Matron Novel), The Valkron Saga, and Points are on the list to release in the near future.
Thanks Brian for answering my questions!
Leave a Reply

