Author Spotlight for 4-25-14, Meet Julia Legian

A bit late this week on posting, but without further ado it is my pleasure to introduce author, Julia Legian!

1)      Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Julia Legian. I was born in 1972 in South Vietnam, though truth be told nobody in my family really knows my real date of birth. During the war time I suppose people had other priorities than birth registries. My childhood was pretty tough, and that is the subject of my memoir The Ugly Daughter. In the early 80s my family managed to escape Vietnam as “boat people” and after a few years in a refugee camp, we immigrated to Australia, where I live till this day. I’m happily married to my husband, Simion and I have a wonderful son, Jeremy.

2) Where can we find you on the internet?

http://www.theuglydaughter.com/ would be a good start and also on https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7827024.Julia_Legian and on facebook.

3) Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style?

I’m not a professional writer. I am just an ordinary person with an extraordinary story I’d like to share with the world in the hope of inspiring others. My writing style is brutally honest, simple and sincere and it’s written from my heart.

4) Tell us about your latest book.

The Ugly Daughter is my memoir. It covers the early years of my life from a young age till the time we escaped Vietnam and headed to Australia. I had what many would consider a horrific upbringing and despite all that, I managed to survive and become a successful person in my own right. I wrote the book to demonstrate that anything is possible as long as you have firm faith and believe in yourself. I also hope I can inspire and encourage others to persevere and better their lives.

5) If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why?

I’d love to live in that beautifully house by the river in the movie called The Notebook. The property was set in an idyllic and serene country town. I love water and peace.

6) What was your favorite book growing up?

The Little Mermaid and other Vietnamese fairytales

7) The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out there?

Do what you love. Work hard and never give up on your dream.

8) What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment?

I write at home in bed. The moment I wake up in the morning. I lie in bed and try to recall as many memories as I could. I have a notebook next to me and as soon as a new memory resurfaces I start to write it down. Later on during the day I go through my notes, sort them chronologically and refine the words until I am satisfied with the result. I have my favourite Buddha chill-out meditation music playing in the background to keep me calm and focused.

9)What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming (even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies?

Cash Flow 101 and 202

10) What can we look forward from you in the future?

The Ugly Daughter Part 2.

Thanks again Julia for taking the time to answer my questions!

Leave a Reply

