Author Spotlight 4-18, Meet Mark Woods!

In this week’s spotlight its my pleasure to introduce, author Mark Woods!

3                                      2

1

1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is Mark Woods and I have always wanted to be a writer but never did anything about it. Instead I simply reviewed books on Amazon and goodreads. A couple of years ago I wrote a series of reviews for catt dahman and her z is for zombie series. She told me I had a way with words and not knowing my dream of being a writer, encouraged me to write something. Now I have had several shorts published and work as an Editor for Catt at her publishing company, J.Ellington Ashton Press, as well as writing and working full time as a chef.

2) Where can we find you on the internet?

My Facebook author page can be found at www.facebook.com/markwoodsauthor. I also have an Amazon author page and my own blog at http://sparkymarky1973.blogspot.co.uk/

3) Why did you chose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style?

My writing style varies on what I’m writing but I have been described as having a unique UK voice. I tend to write mostly horror and sci-fi because those are the books I enjoy reading but I also write erotica under a pen name. Those stories I began writing because I wanted to write and share stories I found arousing myself. There is not enough really good, well written Erotica out there and I wanted to try my hand at something totally different and outside my comfort zone.

4) Tell us about your latest book.

Time Of Tides is a Lovecraftian inspired horror set on the UK Norfolk Broads. Amidst mass flooding and the worst storms ever to hit the planet, one family set out on a boat to try and escape the worst of the damage to their home. As they flee, looking for salvation, they quickly realise nowhere is safe and that there are just as many threats to their survival on the water as there is on land. It is a short novella but has gotten rave reviews from those who have read it ANC I have received excellent feedback so far!

5) If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why?

I would love to live in Robin Hobb’s Six Duchies. The world that she has created in her books is so magical and well imagined and I absolutely adore every one of the novels she has written about Fitzchivalry Farseer and the dragons of that world. She is quite simply one of my favourite authors now of all time and has been ever since I picked up her first book, Assassin’s Apprentice!

6) What was your favorite book growing up?

IT by Stephen King and The Talisman by him and Peter Straub were and remain two of my favourite books of all time. Another I always loved was Boys Life by Robert.M.McCammon

7) The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out there?

Write. Just write. I wasted too long of my life not writing because I didn’t think I was good enough. Now I have been told I have a real future as an author if I continue to produce at the same standard. That is a very refreshing thing to be told and very reassuring. If you believe writing us something you want to do with alas soon, you should just go for it!

8) What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment?

I find it difficult to write with other distractions around me, but I often have a notebook and pen on me to make notes, jot story ideas. J.R.Lansale says that those who don’t have time to write are just making excuses. Every time I have a spare 5 minutes on my hands, I find myself thinking about writing or jotting something down now.

9)What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming (even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies?

Well, I have an obsession with GTA, but I don’t get much time for Xbox any more what with writing and editing.

10) What can we look forward from you in the future?

I am trying to expand my short story, Hand Built By Robots, into a full novel and am writing a horror book about genetically manipulated false widow spiders. Also I am part of a six author vampire collaboration coming out in a few months hopefully, called Feral Hearts. This book attempts to make vampires scary again and less sparkly and features other authors such as Edward Cardillo and Amanda.M.Lyons as well as Catt Dahman, Michael Fisher and the absolutely awesome Jim Goforth!

Thanks again Mark for taking the time to answer my questions.

Leave a Reply

