Author Spotlight- Introducing Stan Morris!

In this week’s spotlight it is my extreme pleasure to introduce author, Stan Morris!

Deadwood Stan 500k                                    WIMS titles 1400w x 1820h

1)Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m Stan Morris, the author of eight ebooks.  I was born in Linwood, California at a time when much of the Los Angeles basin was rural.  I lived in Concord, California when there were still acres of pecan trees.  I attended college in Roswell, New Mexico, and in Portales, New Mexico where I married my girlfriend.  After living in Texas for five years, we moved to Maui where we live on our farm.

2) Where can we find you on the internet?

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Stan-Morris/e/B004KB2HG0/

My website: https://sites.google.com/site/stanandrene/home

3) Why did you choose the genre you write in and how would you describe your writing style?

I write science fiction/romance and speculative fiction.  I like to imagine different worlds, but with cultures that are similar to ours.  My style is simple.  Teenagers should have no trouble reading my stuff, though some of it is aimed more at young adults.

4) Tell us about your latest book.

My latest book is What’s In My Shorts?  It is a collection of short stories that range from an amphibian who acquires a servant girl from a planet with the unlikely name of Earth, to a story about a timid college coed who comes under the influence of a college couple.

5) If you could live in any world from a book or movie which would it be and why?

The Rolling Stones by Robert Heinlein.  This was the book that inspired the “tribbles” of Star Trek.  I like the idea of being able to travel from Earth to Mars.

6) What was your favorite book growing up?

It was Tunnel in the Sky by Robert Heinlein.  It inspired me to write Surviving the Fog, my most popular book.

7) The infamous question- what advice would you give to any aspiring and new authors out there?

Write more than one book.  The more you write, the more you learn, and having several books gives readers many more chances to discover you.

8) What are your preferred method to use while writing and environment?

I usually like silence, but sometimes I listen to instrumental music.  I start by writing at night, and I know I am getting serious about the book when I get up in the morning, power my computer, and go straight to Word without starting my browser.

9)What are your favorite games (tabletop and/or video)? If you’re not too much into gaming (even monopoly counts!) what are your other hobbies?

Sudoku, Freecell, and Mahjong are my favorite games.  I love to grow things, I listen to music every day, and weekends are definitely for sports.  I have five LCD tvs in my man-cave.  I can’t wait for the Olympics.

10) What can we look forward from you in the future?

I’m between work right now, but I’m starting to feel the urge to get started on another book.  I always have several manuscripts in progress, so that if I’m not feeling interested in one, I can turn to another.

Thanks again Stan for taking the time to do this, its been a pleasure.

 

 

Leave a Reply

