Date Night Stories

So tonight  was the first time in ages the hubby and I decided to go munchkin free and have ourselves a nice night of going out to dinner and generally spending time where we don’t have to jump up every five seconds to tell him “Don’t do that!” and “No, get down from there!” .  Those with kids definitely unless yours are among the rare constant angels in public or private know what what I’m talking about.  We decided to try a new Japanese restaurant that is pretty higher end, the food was awesome though all they give you to eat with is chop sticks with which my hubby apparently needs a lot of lessons/practice.

Sitting there with our appetizers before our sushi arrived:
“How are you holding it like that?”  he asked as he fumbled with his chopsticks.

“Like what?”

“Like that!”

I grab some of the fried calamari and noodles from their bowl with the chopsticks, he proceeds shove the two sticks together and grab some out then he notices me eating the tiny noodles with the  chopsticks.

“Really? Even those?”

I look up at him smirking, “It’s not that hard, you hold the one stick like you would a pencil, and the other like this,” I demonstrate.  “And move it up and down while the other one stays put.”

He stares at me blinking while I pop the remaining noodles on my plate into my mouth then continues eating in the same fashion as before.  Thankfully we both were rescued by the main attraction arriving.  While I continued to use my chopsticks at several points he alternates from stabbing his food or just picking it up.

“Much more efficient,” he says after doing this.  “Have you tried the wasabi?”

“Not yet, I’ve had it before and its been kinda odd.”

“You should try it,” he says applying it to another piece of sushi.

“Alright.”  I grab a small bit with a chopstick and apply it to a piece of my own.

“Really?! Even that you can get with that? Showoff.”

I can’t help but smirk as I eat the piece of sushi.  “Its not showing off, and by the way its pretty good,”  I reply after swallowing.

I load up another piece with wasabi, a bit more than last time.  “Usually this stuff is just heat with no real taste, but this has it- must be a different brand.”

I pop the new piece in my mouth and it hits every nerve and I breath out causing a dull pain to bloom.  He laughs as my eyes water.  “You breathed out didn’t you?”

“No, I just put too much on,” I reply trying to casually collect myself.

“You breathed out.”

“Can it chopstick boy,”  I shot back snagging my last crab rangoon and digging in.

All in all it was definitely a good night, and while I can’t say how often we will be going back to this restaurant, the food was good the prices were cringe worthy to say the least.  Afterwords our joke was we would take more than just us there after the hubby won the lottery.

“No,” I said.  “Let’s set a more realistic goal.  Lets take everyone if my book does amazingly well.”

He pulls me into a hug.  “Alright, sounds like a plan.”

Here’s to hoping…
Tiffany

By the way here’s the offending wasabi and most delicious sushi:

1012189_567095751445_2074373738_n

Leave a Reply

